How to timebox a task to the calendar

Deep dive on all the ways you can timebox a task and adjust a timeboxed task or working session.

Walkthrough:

How to timebox a task to the calendar · 0:20

There are three ways to timebox a task to the calendar and create a working session:

  • Drag and drop the task on the calendar at a time of your choosing
  • Autoschedule the task by hovering over the task and typing x, or right clicking on the task and clicking “add to calendar”.
  • If there already exists a working session for a task, click on the colored timestamp in the top left corner of the task. That will open the working session pop out, where you can click to add more working sessions on the same or different days. Learn more below.

Timeboxing a task in calendar view · 2:06

In calendar view, you can drag tasks tasks directly from your task list or integrations from the right hand panel into calendar.

Updating planned time · 2:55

Once a task has a working session, you must edit the duration of the working session to change the task’s planned time. Do this by resizing the working session event on the calendar, or by clicking on “planned” on the task and using the working session pop out to resize the working session. You can also edit the event details page.

📘

Different views of task time totals · 5:11

If a task rolls over and/or has a working session on multiple days, the actual and planned times for a task will display depending on how you view the task.

In the main kanban view as well as in focus mode, the task will display the actual and planned times for that day.

However, if you click on the task and open up the whole task card, you'll be viewing the cumulative totals for all the actual and planned times for all instances of that task.

Moving a task to a different day column · 7:00

If you move a task to a different day column, the associated working session will be removed. Since your schedule can vary day by day, it doesn't make sense to move the working session forward by 24 hours. Instead, we recommend timeboxing the task again.

If you'd rather do this in one fell swoop, you can instead move the working session on the calendar or from the working session pop-out container.

Moving a working session to a different day · 7:21

If a task has a working session and you move that working session to a different day on the calendar view, the associated task will also move to that day.

How to remove a working session · 7:38

To remove a working session from the calendar, simply hover over the working session and click “remove from calendar”. You can also click on the task or working session and click the delete icon next to the event details.

Deleting the working session will not delete the task itself.

Working Session Popout

Once you’ve timeboxed a task, you can quickly and easily schedule additional working sessions on the same or different days, as well as adjust the existing working sessions via the "working session popout".

How to timebox a task multiple times and/or on multiple days · 9:52

Click on the colored timestamp in the top left corner of the task and a small calendar view will pop out. Use that pop out to adjust the working session or create additional working sessions by clicking in the calendar. You can add working sessions to other days by using the arrows at the top of this pop out.

📘

When you add working sessions to multiple days, that task will also appear on those days as well. If you click into this task, you’ll be looking at the whole of the task including all of its other working sessions and planned/actual times. Since these instances are all technically the same task, deleting one instance of the task on one day will delete the whole task.

Deleting tasks, working sessions, and events:

If you wish to delete a task that’s been timeboxed, delete the task and its working sessions will also disappear from the calendar.

If you wish to delete a working session but keep the task, hover over the working session in the caledndar and click “remove from calendar”.

If you wish to delete a task created from an event but keep the event on your calendar, just delete the task.

If you wish to delete an event and the task created from it, delete the event on your calendar and the task will also be deleted.