The archive is where tasks go after they've rolled over multiple days in a row without any completion activity.
Prevent your task list from getting cluttered with stale tasks that keep rolling over.
How to use
Introduction · 0:00
The archive is enabled by default. Once a task has rolled over more than four consecutive days, it will be automatically moved from today's task list to the archive.
When tasks roll into the archive, it's a good time to consider why they ended up there and remedy it. Tasks typically show up in the archive because:
- They're not actually that important
- Your day has more tasks than you can reasonably accomplish and there's no room for it
- You are procrastinating it 😏
Accessing the archive · 0:31
There are three ways you can access the archive:
- Click the "moon icon" in the right hand panel
- Use the keyboard shortcuts
Shift + A
- Use the command palette
Changing your archive setting · 0:53
- You can disable auto-archiving by clicking the toggle switch at the top of the archive panel
- You can change when things move into the archive by clicking the "N consecutive days" dropdown at the top of the archive panel.
Triaging your archive · 1:50
- If the task isn't actually important: Delete it or move it to the backlog
- If it's important but you are procrastinating on it: Add a time estimate, add it to a specific day, and block off time to work on it.
- If you're not sure where a task went, check your archive. You'll see a badge next to the archive icon whenever a new task is archived.
- If you notice important tasks are getting archived, consider expanding the archive threshold from four days or disabling auto-archive entirely.
- Consider creating a recurring task called "Review Archive" to remind you to check your archive so you don't lose sight of tasks that end up there.
Updated 3 months ago